What are you looking for?
  • You can request appointment (pending confirmation) in 24 hours

Dr. R.K. Deshpande

Dr. R.K. Deshpande

  • Position :
    Exe. Chairman Asian Cancer Institute
  • Dr. Ramakant Krishnaji Deshpande is the Promoter-Director and current Executive Chairman of the Asian Institute of Oncology as well as the Director of the Charity organization Asian Cancer Foundation in Mumbai.
  • He is a leading Cancer Surgeon -well known in the country and internationally, specially known for his pioneering work in the field of Thoracic
  • He has established the minimally invasive method of Thoracoscopy as a method of surgery both for diagnosis and therapy for various thoracic Cancers like oesophageal cancer, lung cancer, mediastinal tumours
  • from 1982 onwards till date at Bangalore and Mumbai and popularized the same through lectures, demonstrations,
  • He has also pioneered surgeries for carcinoma upper third of oesophagus, surgical management of Trachea-bronchial fistulas, Trachea-bronchial stenting and established department of Robotic surgery at the Asian Cancer Institute at Mumbai in 2015.


  • MBBS From The Karnataka Medical Collage, Hubli in 1976
  • Senior Residency & Fellowship in Surgical Oncology


  • Asian Cancer Institute : ACI Cumballa Hill Hospital
  • Chairman of The Board of Directors of the Asian Institute of Oncology Pvt Ltd
  • S.L. Raheja Hospital Mahim Mumbai
  • Head of Thoracic Services at the Tata Hospital


  • Vijayashree Award by International Friendship Society - New Delhi in 2000
  • Saraswat Bhushan Award on 28th December 2002 at Mumbai
  • Canara Ratna Award in 2009 at Kumta
  • Lifetime achievement award at the Indian National Critical Care Society Annual Meet at Jaipur in 2014
  • Padmashree award by the President of India in 2014, Karnataka
  • Vidhayadhi raj Award in 2014 by the H.H. Partagali Math Swamiji
  • "Saviour Award" in Oncology by Doc N Doc Publications in 2014
  • Game changer award from the HR Society India 2015
  • Vocational Excellence Award by Rotary Club Dharwad in 2015
  • Vasantrao Naik Pratishthan Award in 2015
  • Green ply Prabhhodan Award at Kolkata in 2019
  • Life Time Achievement award by Zee Maaza TV in 2019
  • "Rolling Stone Award" by Society of Peritoneal surface malignancies in Feb 2020
Book Appointment
close slider

    Choose Treatment: